Welcome To Asia Explorer Travel Untitled Document Untitled Document

Welcome To Malaysia

Malaysia, a country in southeastern Asia. It consists of Peninsular Malaysia, an 11-state mainland section on the Malay Peninsula, and the states of Sarawak and Sabah on the island of Borneo. Thus Malaysia is a divided country.

On the Malay Peninsula, Malaysia is bordered by Thailand; on Borneo, by Indonesia and Brunei. The island nation of Singapore is at the peninsula's tip. Elsewhere Malaysia is bounded by water, including the South China, Sulu, and Celebes seas, and the Strait of Malacca. Kuala Lumpur (legislative), Putrajaya (administrative), is the capital. Surface area 329,847 km2 with the population 27,526,000, Density, 83 per km2 . Malays make up about 50 per cent of the population and Chinese about 24 per cent. The rest are largely people of Indian descent and indigenous peoples. Malay, called Bahasa Malaysia by the Malaysian government, is the official language of Peninsular Malaysia and Sabah; Malay and English are official languages of Sarawak. English, Chinese, and Tamil (a language of India) are widely spoken. The principal religions are Islam (the official religion of Peninsular Malaysia), Confucianism, Buddhism, Taoism, and Hinduism.


Malaysia has a more prosperous economy and a higher standard of living than any other country in Southeast Asia except Singapore. Virtually all the development has occurred in Peninsular Malaysia, particularly on the west coast. Agriculture employs a large portion of the population, especially in Sabah and Sarawak. Small holdings and plantations supply some of the nation's chief exports, including rubber and palm oil. Malaysia is a world leader in the production and export of these commodities. Rice, grown for local consumption, is the principal food crop. Other crops include bananas, cacao, coconuts, pineapples, sugarcane, and tea. Poultry and hogs are the most numerous farm animals. Fish are a staple food.


Malaysia is a federation consisting of 13 states—Sarawak, Sabah, and the 11 states of Peninsular Malaysia—and the federal territory of Kuala Lumpur.
Malaysia is a constitutional monarchy headed by a paramount ruler (king), who is elected for a five-year term by the nine sultans of Malaya from their own number. Executive power is held by a premier and cabinet responsible to a two-house federal legislature. In the Senate, the majority of members are selected by the paramount ruler; the rest are chosen (two each) by the 13 state legislatures. The House of Representatives is popularly elected.


Malaysia Tour Program
© 2007 ASIA EXPLORER TRAVEL. All Rights Reserved